Easter Grub

The Catholic world celebrated Easter yesterday.  We were up by 6:00 A.M., preparing for mass at 8:00.  Most of had a late night so it was kind of hard to wake up but we just had to.  After a steaming cup of coffee and some whole wheat banana bagels, I was fully awake.

ImageWe heard mass at St. Therese Shrine at Newport City.  After mass, we visited the columbarium below where my Dad, grandparents (Mom’s side), my Mom’s brother and my brother’s wife are interred.  We were the only ones there that time and we had a few laughs. I hoped the other dead people didn’t mind, hehehe.

By the time we were done with the visit, most of us were hungry.  Batch didn’t have any breakfast so she was really famished.  We then hurried to Mall of Asia for a celebratory lunch affair at Tajimaya Charcoal Grill.  My sis-in-law, Elena, passed her licensure exams as a real estate broker.  Another reason to eat!

Our reservation was at 11:00 AM- we arrived at 10:15.  We had to wait until they fixed our table, which was done in 15 minutes.

ImageWe all went buffet except for Ma.  We were on a meatless diet because of Lent so we splurged: Japanese bacon and sausages, thin slices of beef, shrimps, corn and squid rolls, and chicken.  They serve it raw and you cook it on the grills located on the table.  It was really fun and good.  There was also endless rice and iced tea.  Ahh, the life!

After that very filling lunch and the very hot weather, we had to have ice cream.  So, off to Swensen’s.  Ma and I had coffee- had to skip ice cream because of my really bloated feeling.

When we got home, I prepared for Easter dinner.  No kidding- even after a very satisfying lunch, I had to make dinner.  Made dessert first: Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse Pie.  Ouch, up goes my blood sugar level.  I then made the main dish: Shepherd’s Pie.  I got the recipe off the Internet a month ago and just love its version of the mashed potatoes.  Hmm, didn’t bother to take pictures…

Easter is family time and I spent it with mine.  Though missing my Dad, a vital member, nothing beats it.

🙂

Leave a Reply

